

DAV MN COMMITTEES AND APPOINTMENTS 2024-2025

DAV MN Executive Committee	COMMANDER:	Oather Martin
	SR VICE CDR:	John Walker
	1 ST JR VICE CDR:	Mike Medhaug
	2 nd JR VICE CDR:	Sandi Braunstein
	3 rd JR VICE CDR:	Rich Batcho
	4 th JR VICE CDR:	Bill Gordon
	JUDGE ADVOCATE:	Rick Jarvis
	CHAPLAIN:	Bob Heinz
	TREASURER:	Scott Berndt
	PDC:	Ellsworth Fields
	INSPECTOR GENERAL	Joe Litzinger
	ADJUTANT (secretary):	Stephen Whitehead
DAV OF MN FOUNDATION BD OF DIRECTORS		
	DIRECTORS:	Mike McLaughlin Joel Schilling Paul Pederson Chris Magnusson Tony Tengwall John Walker
EVE OF		Scott Berndt (Treas)
EXECU		Lauri Brooke
	EX-OFFICIO:	Oather Martin(CDR) Josh Vrtacnik
	ADVISOR	Stephen Whitehead

FINANCE COMMITTEE

The Department Treasurer shall serve as chair of the Finance Committee. This appointment is for one (1) year or until removed by a majority vote of the Department Executive Committee. The remaining members of the Finance Committee shall include the Department Commander and three additional appointed members. The three appointed members shall serve as the Audit Committee in accordance with DAV National Constitution and Bylaws Section 9-3 para 1. The Department Senior Vice Commander and the Director of Operations shall be exofficio members of said committee without vote, and the Department Adjutant shall be secretary of said committee without vote.

TREASURER	Scott Berndt
COMMANDER	Oather Martin
APPOINTED:	Steve Yngsdal – Ch 28 Jerry Bjerke – Ch 38 Bill Johnson – Ch 1
EX-OFFICIO:	Josh Vrtacnik John Walker
SECRETARY:	Stephen Whitehead

DAV MN Volunteerism/VAVS Committee

The committee shall be chaired by the 2nd Junior Vice Commander and members shall include MN Department VAVS **chair**, HSCs and LVAP Coordinator, a Past Department Commander (PDC) and two additional DAV MN community volunteers. **The** focus of the committee is the development and coordination of volunteer programs for VAMCs, CBOCs, Veterans Homes, and communities. Example activities include, but are not limited to: recruitment of VAVS and LVAP volunteers, coordination of volunteer recognition when appropriate (via Department Headquarters) and promoting/engaging in volunteerism (membership, auxiliary, youth, community members, etc.

Sandi Braunstein Dan Welsand -Ch 6 John Carlson – Ch 1 Robert Saddoris – Ch 38 Joel Schilling – Ch 1 Jeff Lubarski Ch 2

DAV MN Membership Committee

The committee shall be chaired by the Senior Vice Commander and members shall include the 4th Junior Vice Commander, a National Service Officer (NSO), a Past Department Commander (PDC) and two additional appointees. **The** focus of the committee is the development and coordination of an annual Department membership recruitment plan, assist with organization and recruitment for new Chapters, assist with Chapter restructuring and vitality where necessary and coordination of leadership development/education efforts.

John Walker – CHAIR Bill Gordon – 4th Jr Josi Jensen Ch 2 Wilson Spence - PDC Mike Chepa – Ch 32 Keena Prosser - NSO

DAV MN Transportation Committee

The committee shall be chaired by the Department Transportation Director and members shall include the 3RD Jr. Jr vice, Department Treasurer, one Past Department Commander (PDC), and two additional appointees. **The** focus of the committee is the oversight of all aspects of the DAV MN transportation program to ensure it continually meets the needs of veterans in an efficient manner. The committee is also charged with establishing and maintaining optimal relations with any entities necessary to maintain an effective transportation program.

Stephanie Zeimetz Oather Martin - CDR Scott Berndt - Trea Dave Valtinson - PDC Clint Knorr – CH37 Stan Heuer – Ch 18

DAV MN Outdoors Committee

The committee shall be chaired by the 1_{st} Junior Vice Commander and members shall include the Department Adjutant as an ex-officio member, Event Coordinator, a Past Department Commander (PDC) and three additional appointed members to represent the interests of veterans in various regions of Minnesota. **The** focus of the committee is the development and coordination of therapeutic outdoors recreational events for disabled veterans. The committee is tasked with developing relationships with businesses, outfitters and other organizations involved in outdoor activities to expand and enhance MN DAV Outdoors events.

Mike Medhaug (C) John Carson (COORD) Kim Waln Ch 12 Roland Mammenga Ch 12 Darren Brooke – Ch 38 Dave Valtinson - PDC

ADVISORS

Oather Martin (CDR) Stephen W (ADJ)

DAV MN Time and Place Committee

The committee shall be chaired by the Department Adjutant (or designee) and members shall include the NSO Supervisor, DAV MN Administrative Specialist, Judge Advocate and a Past Department Commander (PDC). **The** focus of this committee is the annual review of the upcoming Spring Convention and Fall Conference sites to ensure readiness and capacity. The committee is tasked with solicitation for information, reviews and recommendations of sites for the open dates for future Conventions and Conferences (normally two years in advance).

Stephen W -CHAIR Charles Burns Rick Jarvis Scott Berndt

ADVISORS:

Gina Lindell

DAV MN Legislative Committee

The committee shall be chaired by the Department Benefits Protection Team Leader (BPTL) and members shall include Department Senior Vice Commander, a Past Department Commander (PDC) and three additional Chapter Benefits Protection Team members. **The** focus of the committee is to develop and coordinate legislative initiatives that will benefit disabled veterans, their dependents and/or survivors.

DEPT BPTL

Trent Dilks BPTL John Walker Bill Wroolie - PDC Carla Tappanier -Ch40 Cory Fouquette – Ch 37 Luis Campero CH 1

Interim and Convention Committees

The DAV of MN Convention Committees will be in session at the annual convention and members will be appointed from the ranks of the attending convention delegates. The core members of these committees are appointed by the Department Commander/Adjutant. Additional members can attend the committee meetings as non-voting members.

Women Veterans Committee	Kati Carpenter
	Diane Keith Ch 1
	Roxanne Ch 39
	Chris Magnussen
	Dawn Batcho
	Melissa Franz
COMMANDER'S ADVISORY committee	Debra Petersen
	Dean Ascheman
	Van Karg C
V4V TRUST FUND – DAV APPOINTEES:	Ellsworth Fields – 2 YF
	Reggie Worlds – 1 YR
DAV MN Department Scholarship	Ron Haugen
	Ellsworth Fields
	Oather Martin
	Bob Heinz
DAV MN Constitution and Bylaws	Rick Jarvis
•	Josh Vrtacnik
	Rich Batcho
	Debra Petersen
	Tom Annonson

Additional Committees - The DAV of MN Department Commander has the authority to appoint any additional interim committees he/she deems necessary.

DAV MN APPOINTMENTS

CHIEF OF STAFF AIDE TO STATE COMMANDER

NEWSPAPER EDITOR WEBMASTER STATE VAVS CHAIR

MPLS VAVS

ST. CLOUD VAVS

VAVS FARGO VAVS SIOUX FALLS FT. SNELLING NATL CEMETERY SERVICEMENS CENTER REP COMMANDERS TASKFORCE

AMBASSADORS

MN DVA DAV MN Auxiliary MN COUNCIL FOR VETERANS (MAC-V) HASTINGS VETERANS HOME SILVER BAY VETERANS HOME FERGUS FALLS VETERANS HOME MPLS VETERANS HOME LUVERNE VETERANS HOME Montevideo Veterans Home Preston Veterans Home Bemidji Veterans Home CVSO ASS'N

NATIONAL APPOINTMENTS

AIDE TO NATIONAL COMMANDER NATIONAL DEPUTY CHIEF OF STAFF Van Karg

FTS EMPLOYEE Ryan Emerson Bob Heinz

John Carlson Lou Michaels Diane Keith

Zach Johnson Brandon Rogers

ROBERT SADORRIS Darwin Sietsema Ken Gibson ??? Oather Martin

Stephen Whitehead Scott Berndt Stephen Whitehead Bob Heinz Pat Shaw Rebecca Lhotak Joel Schilling Mike Chepa

Jerry Bjerke

Debra Petersen Mike McElhiney