

MN DAV COMMITTEES AND APPOINTMENTS 2023-2024

DAV MN Executive CommitteeCOMMANDER:

Ellsworth Fields

SR VICE CDR: Oather Martin 1ST JR VICE CDR: John Walker 2nd JR VICE CDR: Mike Medhaug 3rd JR VICE CDR: Sandi Braunstein 4th JR VICE CDR: Rich Batcho JUDGE ADVOCATE: Rick Jarvis CHAPLAIN: Jim Butler TREASURER: Scott Berndt

PDC: Mick Aguirre
ADJUTANT (secretary): Stephen Whitehead

DAV OF MN FOUNDATION BD OF DIRECTORS

DIRECTORS: Mike McLaughlin

Joel Schilling
Paul Pederson
Chris Magnusson
Tony Tengwall
Oather Martin
Scott Berndt

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Lauri Brooke
EX-OFFICIO: Ellsworth Fields

Josh Vrtacnik

ADVISOR Stephen Whitehead

FINANCE COMMITTEE

The Department Treasurer shall serve as chair of the Finance Committee. This appointment is for one (1) year or until removed by a majority vote of the Department Executive Committee. The remaining members of the Finance Committee shall include the Department Commander and three additional appointed members. The three appointed members shall serve as the Audit Committee in accordance with DAV National Constitution and Bylaws Section 9-3 para 1. The Department Senior Vice Commander and the Director of Operations shall be ex-officio members of said committee without vote, and the Department Adjutant shall be secretary of said committee without vote.

TREASURER Scott Berndt
COMMANDER Ellsworth Fields

APPOINTED: Steve Yngsdal

Jerry Bjerke Mick Aguirre

EX-OFFICIO: Josh Vrtacnik

Oather Martin

SECRETARY: Stephen Whitehead

DAV of MN Volunteerism/VAVS Committee

The committee shall be chaired by the 2nd Junior Vice Commander and members shall include MN Department VAVS **chair**, HSCs and LVAP Coordinator, a Past Department Commander (PDC) and two additional DAV MN community volunteers. **The** focus of the committee is the development and coordination of volunteer programs for VAMCs, CBOCs, Veterans Homes, and communities. Example activities include, but are not limited to: recruitment of VAVS and LVAP volunteers, coordination of volunteer recognition when appropriate (via Department Headquarters) and promoting/engaging in volunteerism (membership, auxiliary, youth, community members, etc.

Mike Medhaug Dan Welsand John Walker John Carlson Robert Saddoris

DAV of MN Membership Committee

The committee shall be chaired by the Senior Vice Commander and members shall include the 4th Junior Vice Commander, a National Service Officer (NSO), a Past Department Commander (PDC) and two additional appointees. The focus of the committee is the development and coordination of an annual Department membership recruitment plan, assist with organization and recruitment for new Chapters, assist with Chapter restructuring and vitality where necessary and coordination of leadership development/education efforts.

MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE

Oather Martin Rich Batcho Josh Dawson (NSO) Mike Chepa Josi Jensen Ron Haugen

DAV of MN Transportation Committee

The committee shall be chaired by the Department Transportation Director and members shall include the Department Commander, Department Treasurer, one Past Department Commander (PDC), and two additional appointees. **The** focus of the committee is the oversight of all aspects of the DAV MN transportation program to ensure it continually meets the needs of veterans in an efficient manner. The committee is also charged with establishing and maintaining optimal relations with any entities necessary to maintain an effective transportation program.

Stephanie Zeimetz Sandi Braunstein Scott Berndt Bill Gordon Wilson Spense Ellsworth Fields

MN DAV Outdoors Committee

The committee shall be chaired by the 1_{st} Junior Vice Commander and members shall include the Department Adjutant as an ex-officio member, Event Coordinator, a Past Department Commander (PDC) and three additional appointed members to represent the interests of veterans in various regions of Minnesota. **The** focus of the committee is the development and coordination of therapeutic outdoors recreational events for disabled veterans. The committee is tasked with developing relationships with businesses, outfitters and other organizations involved in outdoor activities to expand and enhance MN DAV Outdoors events.

John Walker
Todd Bergland
Dave Valtinson
John Carson
Darren Brooke
Roland Mammenga

ADVISORS

Ellsworth Fields Stephen Whitehead

DAV of MN Time and Place Committee

The committee shall be chaired by the Department Adjutant (or designee) and members shall include the NSO Supervisor, DAV MN Administrative Specialist, Judge Advocate and a Past Department Commander (PDC). The focus of this committee is the annual review of the upcoming Spring Convention and Fall Conference sites to ensure readiness and capacity. The committee is tasked with solicitation for information, reviews and recommendations of sites for the open dates for future Conventions and Conferences (normally two years in advance).

Stephen Whitehead

John Baxley Rick Jarvis Scott Berndt

ADVISORS:

Gina Lindell

DAV MN LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE

The committee shall be chaired by the Department Benefits Protection Team Leader (BPTL) and members shall include Department Senior Vice Commander, a Past Department Commander (PDC) and three additional Chapter Benefits Protection Team members. **The** focus of the committee is to develop and coordinate legislative initiatives that will benefit disabled veterans, their dependents and/or survivors.

DEPT BPTL

Trent Dilks
Oather Martin
Mick Aguirre
Jennifer Shumaker
Luis Campero
Jerry Bottcher

Interim and Convention Committees

The DAV of MN Convention Committees will be in session at the annual convention and members will be appointed from the ranks of the attending convention delegates. The core members of these committees are appointed by the Department Commander/Adjutant. Additional members can attend the committee meetings as non-voting members.

WOMEN VETERANS OUTREACH committee members Mellissa Franz Kati Carpenter Chris Magnusson Josi Jensen Andrea Kostiuk Vernadette Verladi **COMMANDER'S ADVISORY committee** 2 to 4 appointments Dean Ascheman Mike McElhiney **Greg Remus** Pam Krill Reggie Worlds 2 YR **V4V TRUST FUND – DAV APPOINTEES:** Lauri Brooke 1 YR **DAV MN Department Scholarship:** Ron Haugen Joel Schilling Ellsworth Fields Mick Aguirre **DAV MN Constitution and Bylaw** Rick Jarvis Josh Vrtacnik Ron Haugen Scott Berndt Sandi Braunstein